Help with a screensaver extension attribute

ddasilva
New Contributor

Hey guys,

I'm still new to the extension attributes game and was wondering if someone in the community could help be come up with a EA that will return the current set screensaver.

I found this attribute that is supposed to provide the current screensaver set time LINK and attempting to modify it has not been very successfull.

Any help would be appreciated. If anyone has suggestions on where i can get more info on writing my own that would be great too.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

iJake
Valued Contributor

You can modify it to only show the name or the file or whatever format you want but this should do what you want. Just threw it together so not fully tested but it works on my 10.11 machine

#!/bin/bash

plistBuddyPath="/usr/libexec/PlistBuddy"

grabConsoleUserAndHome(){
  currentUser=$(stat -f %Su "/dev/console")
  homeFolder=$(dscl . read "/Users/$currentUser" NFSHomeDirectory | cut -d: -f 2 | sed 's/^ *//'| tr -d '
')
  case "$homeFolder" in  
     * * )
           homeFolder=$(printf %q "$homeFolder")
          ;;
       *)
           ;;
esac
}

grabConsoleUserAndHome

if [[ "$currentUser" == "root" ]]
    then
        exit
fi

screensaverPlist=$(find $homeFolder/Library/Preferences/ByHost -name com.apple.screensaver.*  -type f -print0 | xargs -0 stat -f "%m %N" |
sort -rn | head -1 | cut -f2- -d" ")

if [[ ! -z $screensaverPlist ]]
    then
        screensaverName=$($plistBuddyPath -c "print :moduleDict:moduleName" $screensaverPlist)
        screensaverFile=$($plistBuddyPath -c "print :moduleDict:path" $screensaverPlist)
fi

echo "<result>$screensaverName,$screensaverFile</result>"

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

iJake
Valued Contributor

You can modify it to only show the name or the file or whatever format you want but this should do what you want. Just threw it together so not fully tested but it works on my 10.11 machine

#!/bin/bash