How do I allow Logitech Device Pref Pane?

joemamasmac
New Contributor III

Hello, I have a user who installed the latest and greatest Logitech mouse on his laptop. The preference pane is greyed out though and the user cannot access the software. I am new to Caspar and would like to allow the user to utilize the software. Any suggestions on how I go about setting this up?

I found the entries for the product "com.Logitech.ControlCenter.Preference.Pane" and "jp.plentycom.prefpane.SteerMouse"

Thanks for the help.

Joe

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

In Workgroup Manager, under one of either User, Group, Computer or Computer Group, check under the Preferences button in the main toolbar, and then under System Preferences in the list of icons that shows up. That's where any Pref Pane management generally occurs with OD.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

talkingmoose

Pref panes usually allow any user access to them even if they don't allow the user to make changes.

Is the pref pane greyed out before he clicks on it or are you saying the options in it are greyed out (no permission to make changes)?

I take it the user is not an administrator. What happens if an administrator installs it?

mm2270

If you've set up MCX to restrict certain System Preference Panes with the allowedPreferencePanes option, then you'll need to add the Bundle Identifier into the array. I assume its "com.Logitech.ControlCenter.Preference.Pane" as you said in your post.

joemamasmac
New Contributor III

The preference pain is greyed out even though the user doing the install is an Administrator.

If you've set up MCX to restrict certain System Preference Panes with the allowedPreferencePanes option, then you'll need to add the Bundle Identifier into the array. I assume its "com.Logitech.ControlCenter.Preference.Pane" as you said in your post.

This might be the case, where is this set?

Joe

mm2270

yourJSS > Management > Managed Preferences