Managed Preferences vs. Configuration Profiles

djf3188
New Contributor

Please forgive the stupid questions -- I'm a Windows admin and I'm being baptized by fire with Mac management with JSS. :)

All of our Macs are on Snow Leopard but we're quickly needing to move to Mountain Lion so I'm trying to make heads or tails of what we've done so far with trying to configure JSS to manage Snow Leopard machines.

During our implementation it was understood that Managed Preferences were for Snow Leopard machines and below, and Configuration Profiles are for Lion machines and above. Is this true, or where would Managed Preferences come into play with Mountain Lion?

Reason I ask is that I can find the settings for com.apple.screensaver in Managed Preferences, for example, yet I don't see anywhere in Configuration Profiles to set this without somehow importing an XML file to get these preferences in there.

So, oh great Masters of the Mac, can you tell me if I still need to use Managed Preferences or if everything should live in Configuration Profiles?

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

So, the general answer on this is that Apple has "deprecated" Managed Preferences (MCX) under Mountain Lion. What that actually means in practice isn't much though, since MCX still generally works in 10.8, as well as 10.7. That isn't to say that every managed preference you try to apply to 10.7 or 10.8 Macs will work, but our experience has been that most of them work just fine. Apple is just pushing configuration profiles in 10.7 and above as the future.
Keep in mind that using profiles in 10.7/10.8 requires some certificate communication between your JSS and your Macs to be in place to make use of it. MCX doesn't care either way, so if that's a concern or issue, keep that in mind.