How to deploy Office 2016 via self service using Jamf Pro 10.3.0?

sastie
New Contributor II

Hello everyone,
Please forgive me as I am completely new at this, I want to allow users to install Office 2016 via self-service.
I have successfully created and installed packages for Atom, Jetbrains IntelliJ.
I am hitting a roadblock with Office 2016, I grabbed the SKU-less package from https://macadmins.software/ put it in JAMF Pro, created a policy.
When trying to install via the self service, it seems that it installs, but nothing gets installed; I see that the statuses are executing - install (no downloading) when clicking on install in the Self service app.
NB this happens on the single app packages too...

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

damienbarrett
Valued Contributor

Have you tried manually installing any of the .pkgs you grabbed from macadmins.software? Just copy it to the desktop of a test machine and run the .pkg. See if it installs.

I've seen .pkg downloads get corrupted during download, so maybe one or more of you .pkgs are damaged and the policy is failing to install because of it.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

kitzy
Contributor III

Can you show us the log of one of the policy runs? That would help determine what's happening.

sastie
New Contributor II

@kitzy When I launch the policy via the install button in Self Service I get the following in /var/log/jamf.log (the policy is marked as On-going on Jamf Pro):
jamf[28383]: Checking for policy ID 9...
jamf[28383]: Executing Policy Microsoft Excel

That is all the logs I get.

To be perfectly fair, I assume that I did something wrong with the app packaging, I just grabbed the packages at http://macadmin.software and uploaded it to the packages section of "Computer Management".

kitzy
Contributor III

Check the policy logs on the Jamf Pro server, that should give you some more details.

sastie
New Contributor II