How to find macs on your domain

danielgrm
New Contributor III

I am new to Jamf and have been tasked with Wrangling in our Mac architecture here at my company. The question is how do you go about finding them. From out Legacy side that i created i know the subnets and admin usernames for the all the machines. Being that the image is standard i have setup remote login and remote management. So i can go ahead scan the sub nets and not have an issue.

On the other side it gets a little more tricky. There is not standard image. Remote login and management are generally not turned on. Also the admin usernames are all over the place. Nothing is standard.

What have you guys done to go about find the macos devices on the domain?

4 REPLIES 4

m_donovan
Contributor III

Casper Recon has a network scanner that can be used to find and enroll computers on your network. I have not personally used it myself but it may get you what you need.

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Recon.app's Network Scanner is a place to start, but be aware there are prerequisites to being able to use it effectively. For example, you need to know of at least one or more possible local administrator account names and associated passwords on your deployed Macs, that Recon.app can use to connect to them. Also, SSH has to be enabled. If you have a bunch of Macs that were either set up piecemeal with no standard local admin accounts on them, or no SSH enabled, Recon.app isn't going to be much help. Essentially, it needs a way it can "remote in" to each Mac, copy the jamf binary over and enroll the Mac back into the Jamf Pro server.

From the sounds of what you described, it doesn't sound like you'll be able to use this method, since you said "Remote login and management are generally not turned on" but perhaps some of them are enabled. You'd still need to enter the admin names/passwords to connect.