How to set the startup disk during Target Disk Imaging?

steventhemacman
New Contributor III

Hi Everyone,

We do target disk imaging for our Macbook Air and a few Macbook Pros. For some reason when we do this the startup disk does not seem to be "set". The computers will boot fine, however I can tell they are searching at startup for 10-15 seconds then will show the apple symbol, whereas if we login, set the startup disk and reboot, the apple logo shows up almost instantly. I am not good at scripts, I was just looking for something (a script maybe, or a setting in JSS) to set the startup disk so we dont' have to a thousand times....: ). Thanks.

7 REPLIES 7

stevewood
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

I can think of two ways to do this during imaging using a script. Using either the bless command from the OS, or the bless verb from the jamf binary:

Usage:  jamf bless -target <path to target> [-setOF]
jamf bless -bootargs <boot-args> -bootfile <boot-file> -bootdevice <bootdevice>

You would of course need to know the disk that you want to boot to. I just cobbled this together quickly, so you'll want to test this, and I'm sure someone else on list will let you know if there is an easier way:

#!/bin/sh

# get the volume path
bootVolume=`diskutil list | grep -i "macintosh hd" | awk '{ print $7 }'`

# bless the boot volume
jamf bless -target /dev/$bootVolume

Of course, if your internal drive is not named Macintosh HD, you'll want to change the grep in that script. Also, you'll want to make sure there are no other drives named "Macintosh HD", so re-naming the drive you are booting from to do the imaging is important.

Like I said, I'm sure there's another way I'm not thinking of, and I'm sure someone on list will respond with it. Right @mm2270? :-)

steventhemacman
New Contributor III

I will give it a test run and let you know. Looks pretty straight forward. Thanks!

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III