Installing Client Specific ConnectWise Control

crs_cody
New Contributor

Hi,

I'm new to JAMF and work with a MSP.  We are trying to build a package that installs our ConnectWise Control app on our clients Mac computers. So far we have no success in our testing and creating this package with Composer. Has anyone been successful with achieving this?

7 REPLIES 7

MatthewGC
Contributor

I am a client for an MSP that provides me ScreenConnect as a service. I downloaded the package and added it to my packages just as I did any package. SC also allows for a download link that appears to be static for each client. You could take that URL and script the download and install from that for each client.

crs_cody
New Contributor

@MatthewGC  I did the same as your first mention with no luck. Did you package it as a .dmg or .pkg? Also, where did you find a static URL for the download?

In ScreenConenct there's an option to make a build (this could be restricted by your admin). When you do that you have the option to copy the URL or download it based on the available options. You would select your client and Mac, which gives you a pkg that you can use without repackaging. Before you copy the URL or download make sure you've selected all the options you want for all the fields and it will build the package accordingly.

Screen Shot 2021-09-27 at 1.03.09 PM.png

Gotcha. OK, that's what I did. How did you package it for JAMF Pro @MatthewGC? PKG or DMG?

Also, how did you combat the required permissions for Screen Recording and Accessibility?

It creates a PKG and I use that without modification or repackaging necessary.

You can't get around the screen recording issue, the users have to enable that option. It's a macOS security feature but you can make a policy for Accessibility.