iOS Mass Action Update Failures

cstout
Contributor III
Contributor III

Happy Saturday, JN.

I've been working on and off with support regarding this for several months now and still don't have a solid answer so I thought I'd throw it out here to see what is being experienced out in your environments:

My questions to JN are:
1. Are any of you seeing the same behavior?
2. What have you found to be the most reliable procedure to follow regarding mass iOS updates?

Scenario: Apple releases a new iOS version.
My basic process: When I have a smart group or a regular inventory search and choose to perform an action on the listed iOS devices, I choose Action->Send Remote Commands->Update OS Versions on supervised devices->Latest version & Download and install the update chosen->Next (Finish)

Pretty straightforward, right? Well, for the last two iOS releases I've had about a 10% success rate with this process.

My test iPads, which have no passcode set, simply log the following and never actually process my update request. I've had only marginally better results by specifying the iOS version instead of choosing latest available, but even then have seen the same results.

Here is what I see on the management command history:

OSUpdateStatus  2 minutes ago   
OSUpdateStatus  17 minutes ago  
OSUpdateStatus  32 minutes ago  
OSUpdateStatus  47 minutes ago  
OSUpdateStatus  About an hour ago   
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 8:14 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 7:59 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 7:44 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 7:29 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 7:14 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 6:59 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 6:44 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 6:29 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 6:14 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 5:59 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 5:44 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 5:29 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 5:14 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 4:59 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 4:44 AM    
OSUpdateStatus  Today at 4:29 AM