ipad permissions/restrictions based on network segmentation

toolrules
New Contributor

I've searched through the forum, and earlier discussions on this topic are now too old to ask for additional information within.

I'm tagging two users who have provided solutions for this discussion, but kindly I would ask for additional information/confirmation: @tobiaslinder and @kitzy

background:
I'm a parent with a student in a school district with 1:1 iPad program. The district does not have iBeacon hardware. The district allows students the use of applications that I would prefer be used only at school. When the device is off campus, I would want the device to have access to only parental permitted applications (valid educational applications). In a household of devices to monitor, having one device not managed similarly is a disruptor.
Efforts at home to minimize device's disruption to family and student sleep include utilizing mdm on our family owned iOS devices (OurPact). I disable wireless access at home for the 1:1 device - however that creates additional work to enable/disable when the device is actually needed for school work, and its makes it more difficult to provision access when I'm not at home.

My understanding:
There are at least two ways of having a student profile enacted. The first possibility is via use of iBeacons. When the device is in range of the iBeacon, the device enacts the appropriate profile.
A second solution involves the setup of network segmentation within Casper for the campus. When the device checks in with Casper, the devices network configuration is inspected and based its network configuration, a profile will be provisioned to the device.

Work Flow:
My student arrives at school. The device joins campus network. The device checks in with Casper. The device is inspected for network configuration, Casper identifies the device as being within campus domain (network segmentation). Casper deploys the campus profile to my student's device.