Issue with in place devices getting policies after enrolling

lumb1380
New Contributor II

Hello, 

I am fairly new to JAMF Pro and have had mostly good results.  My new devices auto enroll fine and get all required policies.  Most of my older devices have also been fine when completely reloading them before enrolling.  I am however having some issues with devices that are in the wild getting policies after I enroll.  

So I have been visiting offices and manually installing the enrollment profile on devices that used to be enrolled in our Mac Server MDM instead.  While the profile installs fine and it auto pulls the MDM profile and another, the rest of my JAMF configs in at least 1 case haven't installed after 12 hours and multiple reboots and terminal command sends.  Looking in JAMF pro the devices still shows just basic enrollment but no group memberships or config profiles and policies for the device (but  the device HAS been added to several static groups).  

I don't know what to do in these cases?  What is a normal amount of time from enrollment and adding the device to the groups in JAMF to when the device SHOULD have its configs and profiles?  If it doesn't what should I do?

Thank You

Michael 

6 REPLIES 6

Samstar777
Contributor II

Hello @lumb1380 

As you are manually installing enrollment profile, that's means you are initiating User-Initiated Enrollment. First Step of troubleshooting should be to check if User Approved MDM (APMDM) is Approved. Please refer screenshot for the same.

Screenshot 2022-09-14 at 2.25.24 PM.png

lumb1380
New Contributor II

lumb1380_1-1663255992605.png

User initiated.  I'm the user installing on the end user device.  It seems enabled.  It gets the initial 3 profiles but none of the device specific profiles, policies, groups, etc...

lumb1380
New Contributor II

Stupid Question.