JSS & Centrify to manage Macs

AVmcclint
Honored Contributor

Centrify was purchased before I got here with the intent of having all the Macs using it to join Active Directory and receive some management in addition to all that Casper provides. It was never deployed and I've been nudged into moving forward with it. I have no experience with Centrify but from what I've seen, it looks to be a duplication of efforts. Why would I want to use Centrify AND JSS on the same computers? I don't like the idea of using AD group policies to manage Macs.

Is anyone out there using both? How are you using it? Is it worth the effort? Does it cause any problems? Do I need to be an Active Directory guru to properly do this?

20 REPLIES 20

easyedc
Valued Contributor II

We used to use Quest AD plugin, which did/does the same thing as Centrify (I think from the demo's I've gotten by their sales people). It was sold to us before I came on board and pushed for JAMF. It allowed our team which managed GPOs to manage ALL workstations. Casper integrated much better, and being a product specifically designed for Macs, was an easy sell. The big sell from moving away from that management was that JAMF could house all info/management/settings/encryption for Macs, where as not using it just adds layers of complications.

djwojo
Contributor

I'm not sure there is a valid reason left for AD specific management software when the bind configurations can be made in most MDM style systems now. I would be interested in knowing them other than, "We bought it."

Taylor_Armstron
Valued Contributor

We actually are using both, because Centrify offers ONE major thing that Casper does not: Smart card logon.