login password expiry prompt

keywordkid
New Contributor II

The Background: I'm an absolute newbie to everything Apple and Casper! We are on a new Casper setup running iMacs in a primarily Windows domain, I am a Computer Aided Design Manager with reasonable IT knowledge and background but all in Windows. We have had our Jumpstart and are gradually attempting to move users from Windows Bootcamp to Mac OS with Parallels.

The stumbling blocks are:
Annoying Password Expiry Prompt at every login - ours are set by policy to be changed every 28 days.

We also get problems with the 'keychain' passwords what is the best way of handling these?

Any advice will be most gratefully received.

8 REPLIES 8

brent_buckner
New Contributor

We, too, were running into some minor annoyances with the password expiration notice prompt at the login window. If you want to make adjustments as to when this notification appears, I'd recommend the following:

Create a policy with any trigger, executed once per computer. Scope it to the computers (I'm guessing all managed clients) where you want the change applied. Then, in the advanced tab, in the "Run Command:" field, type the following:

/usr/bin/defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow PasswordExpirationDays -int x

Where x is equal to the number of days in advance you want the prompt to appear. Type 0 if you never want it to appear, or 5 for five days before password expiration, for example.

This will make a change using the "defaults" command, which is used to read and write specified plists, which host nearly all configurations/preference settings on your Mac client. Definitely read up on this.

In this case, we're not using MCX or a config profile, because there's not an option in the UI for the user the revert this setting, that I'm aware. Anyone correct me if this doesn't seem right.

As for your keychain woes, what are you specifically running into?

-Brent

Millertime
New Contributor III