MacOS Recovery Lock | Firmware Lock Question

JB1
New Contributor

Hello everyone,

I'm a new Mac JAMF admin at my organization and first time poster here. First off want to say thanks to the community here, as I've already received lots of help here already perusing the forums with other questions I've had (that have previously been covered).  I do have a question as it pertains to firmware / recovery locks as it pertains to M1 Macs.

Currently managing a fleet of around 700 Macs. I'll just state what our organization is wanting to have happen and maybe some of you have suggestions that I haven't thought of or found. I have orders from up top to try to lock down MacOS, so employees are unable to wipe it and bypass JAMF. There was some sort of an incident, which has prompted this request. Ultimately if a user is having a problem with their MacOS device, we would like them to bring it to IT for a reimage to ensure the JAMF MDM profile is present. It was my understanding a Firmware password was previously used on Intel Macs but this feature is not present on M1 Macs.

In my testing (MacOS Monterey) on an M1 equipped device, I can currently choose "Erase All Content and Settings". This will reset the Mac. It then checks for Activation Lock and kicks me back into User Account creation. At this point, I can disconnect the Mac from WiFi / Ethernet and can continue setting up the Mac and bypass JAMF (MDM) enrollment.

In JAMF Pro, I have found options to disable "Erase All Content and Settings" and disable the ability to turn off FileVault. This will remove the "easy" method for users to bypass MDM. The trickier part that I'm finding, would be to lock up recovery mode, which would prevent a user from erasing the drive, reinstalling MacOS, and setting it up from scratch.