Macs not checking in Jamf Pro

D1anna
New Contributor

Hello,

We have a few devices that have not checked in to Jamf pro since 9/23/23. These are active devices. 

What are the reasons Macs stop check-in, and how to fix these issues? 

Thanks

19 REPLIES 19

jcarr
Release Candidate Programs Tester

Is it possible to try to check in manually?  If you have physical access to one of the devices, or can have the user run one or both of the following commands:

sudo /usr/local/bin/jamf policy

or

sudo /usr/local/bin/jamf recon

obi-k
Valued Contributor II

What do you see when you open Terminal and enter: 

jamf checkJSSConnection

D1anna
New Contributor

JSS is available

obi-k
Valued Contributor II

Try this on one of the Macs:

sudo profiles renew -type enrollment
or 
sudo jamf enroll -prompt

D1anna
New Contributor

What I do next after running the sudo profiles renew -type enrollment

Sorry I'm new to jamf 

obi-k
Valued Contributor II

After you enter the admin password in Terminal, did you see any profile prompts? Might depend on what OS you're on.

Try going to System Preferences/Settings, Privacy and Security, Profiles. Find MDM profile. Does it ask you to install or accept?

D1anna
New Contributor

The profiles icon is greyed out. 

obi-k
Valued Contributor II

Is this what you're seeing? https://discussions.apple.com/thread/253657493

Try to remove Jamf framework and then try to re-enroll to Jamf.

D1anna
New Contributor

I was not able to re-enroll in the device. 

D1anna
New Contributor

I don't see any profile prompt after running the enrollment command

obi-k
Valued Contributor II

Back up the data, wipe, and re-provision?

D1anna
New Contributor

Yes, I was thinking of doing that. I tried to get other solutions before doing that, so I can try if this happens again. 

jcaleshire
New Contributor III

As obi-k and jcarr mentioned above, you can run 

sudo jamf checkJSSconnection

to make sure that the Mac can contact your server,

sudo jamf recon