MS Outlook 2016 Kerberos Scripting Issue

cdinges
New Contributor II

In the environment that I work in, Kerberos was just enabled over the weekend on the Exchange servers. I currently have 250+ existing Mac Users with Outlook that currently are set to just use the User Name and Password. I would like to get these existing users flipped to Kerberos.

It is a simple change to make but I am looking to automate just changing that one item. I am not that experienced in scripting but I would like to deploy this change via JAMF / JSS.

Talking Moose's Outlook 2016 script is great for new users that are just logging onto a machine for the first time but when I run this on an existing user, it creates a second mailbox.

I appreciate any guidance anyone can provide.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

You'd need to get the following script to run on each Mac, but while Outlook is open. Maybe make it into a Self Service policy that can launch Outlook and then run this as the current user.

tell application "Microsoft Outlook"
    tell exchange account 1
        set use kerberos authentication to true
    end tell
end tell

This is an Applescript, not a shell script, so it can't be just pushed as is from the JSS, since it's expecting to be run by the logged in user. It will also launch Outlook if it's not currently running. Also, in my experience, it may pop up a prompt to the user to create a Kerberos identity or use an existing one. I'm not sure how it will actually respond on your Macs, so you definitely will want to run this thru some tests to be sure you understand the user experience.

Anyway, test the above out on your own system while Outlook is open and you'll see it switch from Username/Password authentication to Kerberos as the Method.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III