Noob - want to do fresh install of MacOS with screen sharing enabled upon installation

tpressman
New Contributor

Is there a way to easily just do a clean installation of MacOS Ventura on a machine and when that machine is finished with the installation, it will reboot and allow remote control via Remote Desktop or Screen Sharing?  It can be accessible via LAN, that's fine.  I have zero MDM experience, but this seems like it should be simple if you know what to do.  Thanks.

7 REPLIES 7

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

@tpressman In a word, No. There is now an option to have Macs automatically progress through the Setup Assistant screens but you've got to get Setup Assistant started first and that requires hand on. That still won't enable remote access with control however.

Throughout covid I was able to update and manage a fleet of macs remotely.  After software update to Monterey, remote access that was setup before the update was retained and I could go through the setup assistant remotely.  With Ventura, I am blocked and can only manage in person.  There must be a way.  I'd settle for starting with a clean install of Monterey and upgrading it to Ventura, but I still don't have remote access for some reason after the Ventura update completes.

AJPinto
Honored Contributor II
There must be a way. 

This is Apple we are talking about. They have specifically make this work flow not possible, any possible work around would be flaky and likely would not work. This is a Apple Feedback situation.

My head cannon think this workflow may be possible, but I have never tested it and would not be shocked if it does not work. You could use MDM Commands to enable Apple Remote Desktop, and I don't think an account needs to log in locally before being able to log in remotely so long as ARD is enabled.

• You could disable all authentication on device enrollment which would allow a device to enroll without user interaction.