OS X mavericks Dock lock down

mbrewer
New Contributor

I'm new to OSX management via the JSS, what I'm looking to do is install a pre-defined Dock to all computers under management. I used composer to create a .DMG and uploaded it to a windows distribution point. I then created a policy to trigger on login, Execution Frequency is set to Once to Computer. I pointed to the package I uploaded via Casper Admin, Action is install and I checked both FUT,EFU. I then pointed to my distribution share with Force over AFP/SMB checked. I scoped it to a computer and rebooted and logged in and nothing happened.

I'm i missing something?

Thanks for the help!

12 REPLIES 12

johnnasset
Contributor

After enough fiddling trying to get our docks right using Casper tools, I started using dockutil and couldn't be happier:

https://github.com/kcrawford/dockutil

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Agreed. I like most of what the Casper Suite can do, but when it comes to setting up a Dock, it pales in comparison to dockutil.

Also, if you wanted to set the Dock and then really lock it down, as your post title suggests, you may want to look at an MCX setting for com.apple.dock.plist called "contents-immutable" which is a boolean value and can be set to "true" which means users can't modify it. Not sure if you actually wanted to take it that far or just set up a default Dock, but thought it worth mentioning. There may be a setting in Configuration Profiles to do the same thing.

mbrewer
New Contributor

In order to use dockutil would i need to run in on a different server?
I'm currently running JSS on a Windows box.

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

dockutil is a client side binary that you deploy to all your Macs with a policy, or put into your imaging workflow. Its not something that runs from a server.

mbrewer
New Contributor

Thanks, is there any tutorials available to do this?

mbrewer
New Contributor

mbrewer
New Contributor

johnnasset
Contributor