Outset throwing a bad permissions error

wtm001
New Contributor

When testing outset I get a bad permissions error. Anyone come across this? I have them set to 755, thanks!

Bad permissions: /usr/local/outset/login-once/dockutilscript.sh

22 REPLIES 22

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

The script shouldn't care as long as it has read and execute, but the LaunchDaemons / LaunchAgents have to be exact otherwise you'll get that error. Does Outset use a LaunchAgent to do its thing?

wtm001
New Contributor

I'm not really sure about that, sorry I'm new to all of this. After imaging the machine I can login and see that the dock hasn't changed (the dock is what I'm changing with outset). I click the outset executable file and get this error:

outset: error: one of the arguments --boot --login, etc is required.

I'm sure it's something really simple that I'm overlooking. Thanks.

76b46952a4334f528916d28e2b8c7dd1
822e15ae847f41c48d1f511033907c6a

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

What is the file you're clicking?

I click the outset executable file and get this error

Outset would normally just run anything in the login-once folder so the error is sounding like it's not related.

wtm001
New Contributor

The outset file here. I'm guessing this is what runs when you login?

6dbf8d58b882472690950234b17f8e18

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

Thats the one. I f you run it manually, it expects extra options to tell it what to do (like --login or similar).

In this case, I would normally add some kind of logging to the script so you can at least tell if it is running or not. If you add a few lines like this:

echo "script has run" >> /Library/Logs/dockscript.log

You will get a log file in that location that will let you know if it's being triggered.

Outset is only able to run the script, so if it is running ok but not having the desired effect, it may be something in the script.

wtm001
New Contributor