Policy Banner Check Script

phunkywan
New Contributor

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for some help and/or critique on the script below. I would like to mention that I'm still pretty new to scripting and use shellcheck and explainshell pretty heavily. If anyone has any other resources I could add to my arsenal, it would also be much appreciated.

Now that the PSA is out of the way, I want the script to check if the policy banner has been modified or deleted and if so, display a message and run the policy -event policybanner.

#!/bin/bash

loggedInUser=$(stat -f%Su /dev/console)

# Path to the file you want to monitor
file_path="/Users/$loggedInUser/Library/Security/PolicyBanner.rtfd"

# Get the initial modification time of the file
initial_mtime=$(stat -f %m "$file_path")

#changes permissions of after the packages is installed
chmod -R o+rx /Library/Security/PolicyBanner.rtfd

while true; do
    # Sleep for a short duration (e.g., 1 second)
    sleep 1

# Get the current modification time of the file
    current_mtime=$(stat -f %m "$file_path")

# Compare the current modification time with the initial one
    if [ "$current_mtime" -gt "$initial_mtime" ]; then
        echo "The Policy Banner has been modified"
        jamf policy -event policybanner -verbose
        /Library/Application\ Support/JAMF/bin/jamfHelper.app/Contents/MacOS/jamfHelper -button1 "OK" -windowType hud -description "Please do not modifiy the policy banner. -TSS" -heading "Policy Banner " -title "Ocado Group" -defaultButton 1 -icon "/Library/Application Support/JAMF/ot.icns"
        # Update the initial modification time for the next iteration
        initial_mtime="$current_mtime"

elif [ ! -e "$file_path" ]; then
        echo "The Policy Banner has been deleted!"
        jamf policy -event policybanner -verbose