Policy to Delete Downloads older than x dats

freshmacman
New Contributor III

I'm looking to setup a policy that runs once a day and deletes any downloads which are older than 30 days. So far i can't find any scripts that can do this, and also is a script attached to a policy the best way to do this? I am brand new to scripting. Thanks in advance

12 REPLIES 12

Tangentism
Contributor II

What do you mean by 'Downloads'? Each users downloads folder in their profile? The downloads folder in /Library/Application Support/JAMF/Downloads?

Users downloads: You can run something like this:

CURRENTUSER=$(python -c 'from SystemConfiguration import SCDynamicStoreCopyConsoleUser; import sys; username = (SCDynamicStoreCopyConsoleUser(None, None, None) or [None])[0]; username = [username,""][username in [u"loginwindow", None, u""]]; sys.stdout.write(username + "
");')

find  "/Users/$CURRENTUSER/Downloads" -type f -mtime +30 -exec rm -f {} ;

freshmacman
New Contributor III

Thank you this is perfect, and yes sorry I meant User Downloads. The only thing It didn't delete are .app files
It says that they are directories and left them in the downloads folder. Is there a way to have it delete these as well?
Thank you!

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Change the rm -f to rm -rf. I believe that should do it.

Not that you asked, but just as an aside, I would be careful deploying something like this since rm run with root privileges is permanent and could delete things you weren't wanting to. Test this out thoroughly to make sure it does what you want. There's no undo with the rm command, other than restoring from a backup.

freshmacman
New Contributor III

Thank you for the warning, I've had multiple people bring that up now so I'm a bit worried. Is it enough to deploy to a test group and rely on policy running logs to verify its deleting what we want it to? Thank you @mm2270

Tangentism
Contributor II

You could move them instead to the users Trash folder.