Python Script Help - run osascript as another user

mbezzo
Contributor III

Hi All,
Hoping someone has already solved this problem and is willing to share! I'm reworking a great python script from @glee_edin (thanks!) (GitHub link) and need to run osascript as the logged in user. I've never done anything in python before, so I'm coming up a little short. I've got the function looking like this so far: (ignore the bad quoting - the forum isn't parsing it correctly)

#!/usr/bin/python

def user_wants_to_defer(defer_until, updates):
    answer = """
        osascript -e '
            tell application "System Events"
                with timeout of 8947878 seconds
                set result to (display dialog "The following updates are available and require a restart:
%s

You can choose to restart and install them now, or delay until: %s

Updates will automatically be installed at that time if they haven't already been installed." with title "Required macOS Updates Available" with icon ("path/to/icon.icns" as POSIX file) buttons {"Restart Later", "Restart Now"} default button "Restart Now")
                end timeout
            end tell
            if button returned of result = "Restart Later" then
                return "2"
            else
                return "0"
            end if
        '
        """ % (updates, defer_until.strftime("%H:%M on %a, %d %b"))

in bash I'd just do this:

#!/bin/sh
su - "${loggedInUser}" -c osascript -e <<EOT
     do stuff here
EOT

Anybody know of something similar? Hopefully this makes sense... :)

Thanks!
att

18 REPLIES 18

glee_edin
New Contributor

Hello! Ah, yes - this is a change I'd like to make myself actually, and remove the dependency on jamfhelper.

You can do something like this in python:

from subprocess import Popen, PIPE
    script = """tell application "Finder"
                activate
                   display dialog "Hello!"
               end tell
             """