Remove an Apple ID from App Store?

LVISDJShip
New Contributor

Hello all,
I mistakenly imaged my deployment of iMacs with my Apple ID still intact; I really need a way to take that out of 102 machines. Any ideas?
Specifically the Mac App store has updates for iLife that at image creation time I updated with my work Apple ID thinking that imaging would remove data such as that.

Thanks,

11 REPLIES 11

Gorman
New Contributor

In ~/Library/Preferences delete com.apple.storeagent.plist and reboot. This should clear the previous user.

LVISDJShip
New Contributor

To push this to all computers would I use JSS, create a new policy -> advanced -> run command? Would I type it as:
rm ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.storeagent.plist

Thanks! I'm new to the apple environment in general, still grocking with everything (lovin' it)

~james

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

No, you can't use the ~ in your command or it will just try to delete that file from the root account. you need to get the current logged in user and target their home folder path

You could still do it from the Run Command though with something like this-

rm /Users/$(who | awk '/console/{print $1}')/Library/Preferences/com.apple.storeagent.plist

But the one problem with the above is, it will only work on the logged in account. If only one person ever really uses each Mac, it will be fine. If you're looking to remove that file from multiple home folders on each Mac, you'd need a more full fledged script to loop through all local accounts and remove it from each one it finds.

Sandy
Valued Contributor II

HI,
I would package that plist (as a .dmg), and then use uninstall, with FEU and FUT enabled.
To uninstall of course you need to index the dmg after uploading it, and also check the box in Casper admin to allow it be be uninstalled.
Sandy

Nix4Life
Valued Contributor