Remove World Write Permissions

user-mjdVqgUxnj
New Contributor

Good afternoon all,

Please excuse me if I am not posting this in the correct location, or my format is incorrect. I am a new JAMF administrator at my organization. I am attempting to remediate some security concerns around the "world write permissions" attribute.

I am having some difficulty wrapping my head around what exactly this means from an enterprise perspective, and how I would go about remediating this with a policy.

Any input, or help on this topic would be greatly appreciated. I would be glad to provide more info if necessary.

4 REPLIES 4

talkingmoose

Some more detail is necessary. Because this is a security concern for you, we should have the full details. Who's requesting this and why? Also, what is the requestor's familiarity with the Mac file system and how it's designed?

"World writeable" means any end user (whether admin or standard) has the ability to create a directory or file in a specific location on a computer. That's not always a bad thing.

For example, the directory on the Macintosh HD disk at Users > Shared is world writeable. It allows all end users on that computer to freely share data with other end users on the computer. However, there's an attribute on that directory called a sticky bit that prevents any end user from modifying the directories or files from other users unless they have admin privileges or have been granted privileges by the owner.

Another example would be the world writeable permission on each end user's home folder on a Mac. It's there to allow other end user's access to the DropBox folder. This is a way of sharing directories or files from one specific end user to another. It doesn't allow one end user to browse another end user's information.

Both of these are default permissions and are intentionally set.

gabester
Contributor III