Script to use in policy that copies file from remote share to client

jevans76
New Contributor

Hi,

I'm quite new to Casper and administering Macs in general.

I'm looking for a way to script copying a file from the JSS/Scripts directory on my distribution point to the local client

I've done some research and found "scp" but I can't seem to get the syntax right?

scp admin@192.168.101.75:/JSS/Scripts/test.txt .

I get prompted for the password, but then I get the following error:

scp: /JSS/Scripts/test.txt: No such file or directory

Could someone point me in the right direction? Is this even the solution I should be using, or is there an easier way with Casper to copy a file from a remote server share to a local client?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

Hi @jevans76,

scp would certainly be one way to do it. The syntax described by steve is correct, its basically:

scp source destination

As the source (or target) file is on a remote computer the syntax is:

scp user@host:/path/to/file /path/to/destination/folder/

In your example it looks like you are trying to copy the file "/JSS/Scripts/test.txt" from the host "192.168.101.75" to the current location on the computer the script is running on. The error is saying that "/JSS/Scripts/test.txt" doesn't exist on the source computer "192.168.101.75", or if the authentication is being rejected, its not getting far enough to see the file.

For this to be unattended, you will need to create a key pair. We've documented the steps here:

http://www.amsys.co.uk/2012/blog/securely-transfer-encrypted-info-with-password-less-rsync-over-ssh/...

It refers to Rsync but the main bit you will need is the key pair part.