Shared Apple ID's

davidjones
New Contributor

Hoping someone can help.
We have 20 iPads being used in the Music department, for Garageband and alike was working fine until the teacher decided she would like some iBooks installed. I'm pretty new to Apple and Jamf but it appears that you cannot assign iBooks to devices only users. We dontt want to create 200 Apple ID's simply to allow the students to view a book. Any ideas?

6 REPLIES 6

cpominville
Contributor

the creation of Apple ID's, using Apple School Manager is a breeze. You can import users from your SIS, but if its only 200 users, I would consider doing it manually. Depends on your SIS system as to how difficult it is to export then import.

End result, you end up with what is called Managed Apple ID's, which are a bit different in functionality to Regular Apple ID's. No need to create endless numbers of security questions and answers. Creating 200 Regular Apple ID's, will make you want to quit your job!

Once it is setup, it will make your life simpler pushing books to users. You the admin of Jamf will have to do it. I only suggest this, because I see Apple School Manager in your post just below your name, so I am assuming you have Apple School Manager.

davidjones
New Contributor

Thanks @cpominville, i've now created the accounts in Apple School Manager but can't see how to import them into jamf Pro (10.18)

davidjones
New Contributor

I cant get a single user from Apple School Manager to transfer to Jamf Pro when following these instructions.
https://docs.jamf.com/10.7.0/jamf-pro/administrator-guide/Importing_Users_to_Jamf_Pro_from_Apple_School_Manager.html

cpominville
Contributor

Hi davidjones.... sorry for the late reply, I don't peruse my posts often...is your Apple school manager and Jamf "integrated" with a certificate...ie. in Settings, Apple Education Support? Jamf can help with that. If it is, after that.