The MUT Open Source (and more)

mlev
Contributor

Facebook memories says it has been two years since MUT hit the App Store as version 2.1.0--which happened roughly a year after I began work on it. I thought it was a good time to look back on the last three years of development. Pardon the lengthy post.

47140f95656d4c6f9d9c589f7ceb9448

The MUT is now open source

The MUT can be found on GitHub here: https://github.com/mike-levenick/mut

Open source is something that I have had planned for MUT for a very long time; however, I was hesitant to do so, because I was embarrassed. I have no formal programming training. I graduated from UWEC with a business degree, and began scripting because I enjoyed it.

The MUT was my project to learn how to create an "actual program" instead of just scripts. It was created by watching YouTube videos, copy and pasting from Stack Overflow, using Google to resolve error messages that came up, and piecing it together a bit at a time. The source code is ugly.

I know there are folks smarter and more proficient than I, and if I open source it, and others contribute, the scope of the project may quickly be over my head--limiting my learning. I was also hesitant because I am embarrassed of the code. However, I've decided to swallow my pride, and to do what's best for the end user--allow folks smarter than me to make MUT even more awesome.

After all, the developers of Celeste were brave enough to open source all of their player movement code, and many said it was messy beyond belief. But at the end of the day, it's a wonderful game, and now others can learn from their code.

f25f96dbeb6d4090a395b12edb5da30a

The MUT v4.1.0 has been released