Trying to extract all my managed computers for my ITAM

Frank_Sonder
Contributor

Hi,

I'm a sys admin and not much of a dev. I'm trying to extract a list of all computers I have in JAMF so I can list it on a sheet. I'm using Workato with the JAMF App integrated but I can only get a serial number per machine and not all computers at once. We want to automate the process to get our inventory up to date every day. Anyone has experience with this or know how to?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Under Computers > Inventory, create a new Saved Advanced search if you don't already have one. If you want a report of all your computers, leave the criteria section blank, which automatically pulls all enrolled systems. Make certain you check the "Save this search" checkbox and give it a name that makes sense to you. You can and probably should edit the Displays section, which is what columns of data you want in the report. At this time there is no way to really control what order those columns appear in the report, at least not without a lot of work, but they will all be there, any that are checked.

Finally, click on the Reports tab. That's where the automation magic comes in. By clicking "Configure Email Reporting" it will open up a new section that will let you pick which days of the week or how frequent you want the report to be sent and to whom, and allows you to configure the email subject and message, etc. See the images below for examples on how to configure this.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 5.23.58 PM.pngScreen Shot 2022-09-08 at 5.26.46 PM.pngScreen Shot 2022-09-08 at 5.27.27 PM.png

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

Hugonaut
Valued Contributor II

*post redacted*

missed the whole automation comment***

Virtual MacAdmins Monthly Meetup - First Friday, Every Month

Thanks. That I know how-to. What I'm trying to do is to automate it and get it synced like every 2 hours. No manual process like this.

Hugonaut