Using "defaults write..." post pkg install

dooley_do
New Contributor

Hi,

Bit of a noob here. I'm deploying a PKG via Self Service which works fine. I then want to run a "defaults write" command afterwards to set a default for the app.

In my policy I added the app and then a script to run the command. Both show as successful but on the system I see no evidence of the defaults command actually doing anything. If I run the command via terminal it does what I expect.

Any clues as to what I am doing wrong?

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

@dooley_do I can take an educated guess, but it would help if you posted the defaults command you're trying to use.
I suspect it doesn't include the full plist path, maybe just the domain, which doesn't work when the defaults command isn't being run as the user account you're looking to effect. This is true because scripts and other shell commands in packages get run as root in most cases when they are called from a Jamf Pro policy.

dooley_do
New Contributor

defaults write com.ivanti.filedirector server "server.domain.com"

What would the path be to set it for the user who is running the policy?

Thanks

steve_summers
Contributor III

Just to be another helpful voice, @dooley_do , in the policy you created for the install, look on the left hand side of the policy, all the way toward the bottom for "Files and Processes". When you click on it and select "Configure", the last entry there is Execute Command. I put my defaults write entries there, especially if it's just a one liner. Hope that helps....as with most of what we do, there are multiple ways to do the same thing. That's just how I do it.

dooley_do
New Contributor

Thanks Steve, nice! I see it runs as root. Does running defaults write commands as root set them globally for all users?

mm2270