what are the best practices for Mac Apps (Jamf App Catalog) and keeping them updated?

TheCrusher4Real
New Contributor III

I’m new to Jamf development and have been learning a bit from our senior Jamf developer, who said one of our biggest complaints from end users was not knowing when an application had finished updating because it would never relaunch.

So that’s what I set out to explore. My goal was to create and deploy a browser package that would automatically relaunch the browser post-update.

Someone on the forums suggested using Jamf Pro > Computers > Content Management > Mac Apps > Jamf App Catalog, since there I would have the ability to select the option “Automatically open app after update.”

Should mention here that this is different from the Packaging process we are using, which can be described as:

• Create a new Package when a new version of an app becomes available
  • Update the existing Patch Management policy to reflect the new version of the app
  • Deploy to whatever groups we’ve scoped in the Patch Management policy

For my test:

I created a Smart Group that contains just one of my test Macs.

Next I created the Mac App for the browser (using the Brave browser for my testing). As previously noted, I checked the box to automatically open the app after an update. Set the app to appear in Self Service.

Then I installed it. Think that was version 119. There have been at least a couple updates since then but the browser hasn’t updated to  newer version.

So my questions: what happens now? How do I keep the app updated?

I’m not clear on how “Mac Apps” are different from “Packages”.  

Do I still need to continue to download each new version of Brave as it becomes available, and then update whatever Patch Management policy I have defined for that app?

Is there any documentation for Mac Apps, especially anything that illustrates how they different from creating Packages and using Patch Management policies to keep the apps updated?

Thanks.