Set Up iPads without Users

Wombat
New Contributor III

Hi!

Newbie here so sorry if this has been asked before.

We are a Special Needs School and want each class/Department to have a number of iPads that are a shared resource - not 'one each'.  As our students find it hard to log in on devices so we want a simple passcode to open a device then they can use whatever apps are installed.  We want to be able to control what apps etc. are on each iPad (will be specific to a Department) but not to the level of a specific person.

Please can someone offers some advice as to how we would set this up.

Many thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Fluffy
Contributor III

it was 'set up' before I connected it through ASM/Jamf which I guess could be at least part of the problem.

I believe a majority of your issues would be that it was already set up when you added it to ASM. You'll want to do an Erase All Content and Settings on it and go through enrollment with a profile assigned.

Have enrolled an iPad into a MDM before, or would you like some steps for doing it in Jamf School?

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Fluffy
Contributor III

There's a couple of different ways you could set this up, though I have not used most of this in the field.

One way is to make a Device Group with apps and/or profiles for whatever each class/department needs. If you plan to only push out apps automatically, you would not need to worry about assigning an owner.

Should you want to make some apps or profiles on-demand, then you would want an owner for each. I would not recommend using the same owner for all of them, because that can make Jamf Student get messy. Would be better to make individual generic users to "own" them (Class 1-1 for example).