Jordy-Thery
Contributor

It must be 8 or 9 years ago that I started supporting customers with ZuluDesk (now Jamf School). This was my first step into the device management world. Before that, I was a repair technician. 

As my curiosity grew, I was lucky enough that my employer allowed me to do the Jamf 100 and 200 courses. Managing iOS devices is all good and well, but with Mac you need a little more tools. Things like setting a wallpaper sound easy, but they actually require a bit more work than I expected.  

Welcome to the world of Mac Admins! I discovered that for everything I wanted to figure out how to do, there is usually someone with the same question, and maybe they’ve already found a solution for it. Coming in as a completely new Mac Admin, it might be a bit difficult to find your way. But knowing the right people, tools or places to ask for help are really valuable and make all the difference.  

So I thought, why not try and create some sort of list with starting points for finding answers?  Here’s my list of resources: 

Jamf Blog – Your source for any news related to Jamf 

Jamf Nation – Jamf’s very own community. Since you’re reading this you already found this one 😊  

Jamf Concepts - Solutions and plug-ins for Jamf's ecosystem of products built by Jamfs. 

Mac Admins Slack – Your one stop shop with channels for just about every project and almost everyone is on there.  

Mac Admins News – A weekly newsletter with a summary of what's happening in the MacAdmins world, curated by Jamf’s very own celebrity MacAdmin, Armin Briegel. 

HCS Technology Group technical articles – Extensive write ups on how to configure various tools. This actually helped me out a lot when setting up DEPNotify for the first time. 

That’s quite a lot already, right? So let's get a little more specific with helpful people you might have heard of and the areas that they’re specialized in (in no particular order):