Adobe CC Revisited---sorry

mconners
Valued Contributor

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Casper Suite, but have used and packaged apps for a long while with Composer and the former Imaging suite.

I am asking for advice on deploying Adobe CC apps. I have seen and tried a variety of methods over the years. Lately though, I just cannot get the apps to deploy in a timely fashion. If I leave the CCP created package alone and install it either at imaging time or via policy, it can take an hour or more to install. Maybe that is the nature of the beast. I had however found a way to install the CC apps along with the CS 6 apps in about 20 minutes using Composer. This was back in the fall.

Well, this doesn't work so much anymore and I need to find best advice/practice for deploying the applications. We teach ALL of the applications in one form or another so they need to be installed ASAP on these Macs, probably close to 500 of Macs. If I install at imaging time, the black curtain shows up and lasts for over an hour while the apps attempt to install.

If I move it to a policy so at least the computer can get used, users are tempted to login and begin using the Macs even though there is a message on the Mac that these apps are installing.

What does everyone else do about Adobe CC apps? Are you fighting with them like I am? Are you deploying at imaging time and just dealing with the black curtain? Just curious.

Again, I am new to Casper, as of Dec. 2014. Any advice and guidance would be helpful. Thank you, Mick

30 REPLIES 30

dpertschi
Valued Contributor

CCP is certainly the proper packaging tool at this point. I think everyone has given up on even trying to package those crappy apps with Composer.

And for a sanity check, yes, they're huge packages and take a long time to install any with way. Best you can do is image/install across gigE end to end if possible, or maybe sync your DP to a FW or TB drive for local imaging/install.