Archive Policies and Configuration Profiles

Eddie_DJ
New Contributor II

Hi All,

I took over a Jamf role about 9 months ago in education (with no handover and sparse documentation)
(I've been a mac admin for many years but new to jamf)

There are about existing 150 profiles and 70ish config' profiles.

I'm just about getting to grips with it all and I'm planning on upgrading to catalina (Intel macs) and reinstall latest 3rd party software (mostly audio) in december

I'd love to clean sweep the lot and start from scratch - but I'm sure there's some great stuff already in place that I won't know I need till it's gone!

Is there any way of exporting /archiving everything in a way where I could bring back individual elements if needed ?
Thanks 

6 REPLIES 6

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Rather than outright deleting stuff you're unsure about, I would consider creating a new Category in Jamf Pro, like "Disabled" or "Archived" for example and move all the ones you'd like to get out of your view into that category, and disable them. You have to be careful to understand whether something active is really being used or if it's really just old and not needed anymore before you disable them though. But for policies it's just unchecking the "enabled" checkbox. For Configuration Profiles, it would be removing the scope from them to ensure they aren't being pushed to any of your machines.

Outside of the above, there are 2 other ways I can think of to truly "archive" these items.

One would be to use the API in the case of policies to export them into an xml file.
With profiles it's easy. There's a download button within each profile when viewing it. Just download them into .mobileconfig files for safe keeping. You can easily re-import any downloaded profile in most cases using those mobileconfig files.