Binding to AD during Imaging

HelpDeskWarrior
New Contributor II

I am a newbie to both Casper and Macs in general and am trying to create my Casper image workflows but I have hit an issue with AD binding (I require joining all Macs to a Windows network).

In Casper Admin there is an item called 'AD' of the type 'Built-In AD' that is un-configurable and I can't find it in the JSS at all. Either way whatever it is (it may have been created by or Jumpstart trainer) it is not binding AD during the imaging process.

I have also looked through policies to see where I might bind AD and it doesn't seem obvious to me what I might set. I have done quite a bit of research and am at the point of needing some technical direction. Please assume I'm a rank beginner with this stuff...because I am!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

plawrence
Contributor II

@HelpDeskWarrior Hi Rob

In the JSS web page go to Computers -> Management Settings -> Computer Management -> Directory Bindings. You should be able to see the configured AD binding in there. I'd also suggest checking the /var/log/jamf.log on an imaged machine, or even the Imaging log in the JSS for a device to see what the error is when the binding is attempted.

View solution in original post

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

@HelpDeskWarrior As @plawrence says, check the log... the where is important, as in where in the imaging process is the binding being attempted?

We do ours post imaging AFTER setting the time, if you try at run the binding when the client is netbooted it will fail.

FWIW, my workflow is: here.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

plawrence
Contributor II

@HelpDeskWarrior Hi Rob