Calling Softwareupdate from self service as root

Not applicable

I'm no security expert, so I pose this question to all of you.

It seems to work well to have a self service item that runs
/System/Library/CoreServices/Software Update.app/Contents/MacOS/Software
Update. This just brings up the GUI softwareupdate.app. Since it's running
from self service, it runs as admin/root, which therefore does not require
admin credentials to install updates. This works for all users, admin or
not. We control the updates available though SUS and therefore control what
they can get.

Is this an acceptable and secure solution to software updates?

7 REPLIES 7

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

We allow software updating through self service, but we run the command sudo softwareupdate -i -a.

We too have our own asus.. & this seems fine.

Regards,
Ben Toms
IT Support Analyst GREY Group
The Johnson Building, 77 Hatton Garden, London, EC1N 8JS
T: +44 (0) 20-3037-3819 |
Main: +44 (0) 20 3037 3000 | IT Helpdesk: +44 (0) 20 3037 3883

tlarkin
Honored Contributor

we also do it through self service. We are finding some connection
issues and it seems to take longer than just sending the commands itself
but it allows me to managed 1 parent SUS with 6 children SUS servers and
do it all through setting one server and forgetting about it while
letting self service allow the user to trigger updates with out being
admin.

Anything critical gets pushed out regardless

rockpapergoat
Contributor III

the relative security of this approach seems to be acceptable within the community. i can see where it may be possible to replace the softwareupdate binary or other components to do nefarious things, but you have bigger problems if someone can get that far in the first place.

you shouldn't need to call the app like you mentioned above or preface softwareupdate with "sudo" if you're running these from casper.