Creating computer records in the JSS before device enrollment.

seanjsgallagher
Contributor

I am looking for a way to create computer records in the JSS before the computers are enrolled. I would like to be able to set it to use the serial number for the computer name. I will have a spreadsheet with the serial numbers once they are ordered. We do use the DEP but discussions I have been reading indicate there is no way to leverage that for this.. It was suggested to me that I could use the API, but I have zero experience using it. Has anyone already done this, or done something like it that they could share? I'm willing to learn I am just on a very tight time table. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

14 REPLIES 14

Phantom5
Contributor II

You could try macadmins.slack.com JSS API channel. lots of ideas on how to use the API to achieve what you are looking for.

brytox
New Contributor III

I was going to do something similar a while back, the problem is the jss uses udid as the identifier for a computer, not serial, so you would end up with a duplicate record once you have enrolled it.

chelm
New Contributor III

@seanjsgallagher Were you able to find a solution for this? I am having similar issues.

drhoten
Contributor II

Hello @seanjsgallagher, have you taken a look at the Inventory Preload in 10.8 to see if this workflow is what you are looking for? While 10.8 is only for mobile devices, we are working on adding macOS for an upcoming release and would be curious to learn if that would meet your needs.

marklamont
Contributor III

@drhoten It would be useful for many but as @brytox says if jamf is using UUID as the defining data field you can't get that without booting up and enrolling.

drhoten
Contributor II

The Inventory Preload is different than creating a computer record in Jamf Pro before it is is enrolled.