DockMaster .pkg no longer working

rfloody
New Contributor

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to jamf and Mac Management and I have an issue that recently just happened and I've struggled to find an answer. My predecessor used Dockmaster to setup our dock icons to our deployment through a .pkg. Recently with 12.3 it's no longer working and it errors out. I haven't found anyone talking about it anywhere online so I've been stumped on why it's no longer working. Does anyone have a fix or workaround to get it working again? Currently it's installed as a package and even when making the package over again it still errors out immediately. From the little information I could find I saw a change log for DockUtil that updated something for 12.3. Is there something I need to change? I'm not familiar with DockUtil at all so if I need to figure that out to get it working again, is there any resources I can lookup so I can learn it as I'm not to great with command line stuff just yet. 

Thank you kindly!

16 REPLIES 16

emily
Valued Contributor III
Valued Contributor III

I admit I'm not familiar with DockMaster but I think it's just a profile? So it might be an issue with the .pkg being deployed. The first thing that comes to mind is to check and see if there are any scripts in the pkg that require python (which was removed from macOS 12.3).

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

@rfloody Looking at the source for Dock Master (specifically https://github.com/Error-freeIT/Dock-Master/blob/master/Dock%20Master/FileOperations.swift) shows that it uses Python to determine the logged in user. That will fail in macOS Monterey 12.3 or later. You might want to look into another tool for modifying Dock configurations, such as the newly updated dockutil , which doesn't require Python.

Karianea
New Contributor