F5 Load Balancer and Casper

bmarks
Contributor II

When I recently expanded our JSS, I worked with our networking team and they configured two of my RHEL Tomcat VM's to sit behind a load balancer. Since then, I've been troubleshooting various odd issues and the one thing that hasn't been looked at is the load balancer. I have no load balancer experience and our networking team has no JSS/Tomcat experience, so I'm wondering if anyone out there has a baseline of settings to use on the load balancer, in this case an F5. I know there are a ton of variables, but this seems like one of the more common setups, so basic guidelines or direction would be great. I can't seem to find much info searching. The only setting I know we need to change since initial deployment is to turn on the "remote IP valve" setting, or whatever the F5 calls it, so that client IP's are reported correctly. Other than that, I don't know anything about the methods like round robin or the other default pool settings.

10 REPLIES 10

jhbush
Valued Contributor II

@bmarks the folks at JAMF have experience with F5 setups. I had a lot of issues with a VM clustered setup getting access to the DB correctly. I ended up keeping everything on the same VLAN which got al to of bugs worked out. I still have a few odd issues like duplicate licensed software added to inventory records. The upside is terminating the SSL at the LB which saves all of keystore awesomeness.

kitzy
Contributor III

Here are some common things I run into a lot that cause problems when load balancing a JSS.

Persistence isn't enabled on the load balancer
It's super important in the load balancer setting to enable persistence (or keep alive, or whatever your load balancer calls it). This ensures that a machine talks to the same webapp when doing something like running a policy or submitting an inventory update. I find 300 seconds is a good starting point.

SSL isn't being terminated on the load balancer