I just got off the phone with one of our teachers in a Special Ed classroom. They use the Guided Access feature to lock the iPad into a single app for some students. Well, one of those students has figured out how to add a passcode to the Guided Access feature and has now created a passcode on two iPads that he now doesn't remember. I tried the Managemtn feature to "Clear Passcode", but that apparently doesn't work for the Guided Access passcode, only the lock screen passcode.
Does anyone know of some way to clear the Guided Access passcode without completely wiping the device? Guess while I'm asking, is there also a way to remove the Restrictions passcode? That question hasn't come up yet, but I am guessing that it will.
@musat That should work only if there is a device passcode set. Otherwise the iPad just goes right on into Guided Access. If you have iCloud Find my iPad configured, you could pretend it is lost and set a lock code to break out of this..
There is no way that I know of to bypass a forgotten Restrictions passcode.
@peineke That is interesting, I will have to play with it. I'm pretty sure Casper Focus is just sending out the Single App mode Configuration profile, but I don't think I ever tried that while the iPad was already in GA.
Student enabled guided access behind a code, forgot code
Tried Clear Restrictions, Clear Passcode> no help
Hard reset>no help
Enabled Lost Mode> ping starts and will not shut off...
Cleared lost mode> no help
Sent Wipe Device Command> command goes through, record in now marked unmanaged, but device is not wiped!
DFU it is!
Policy with Single App Mode worked for me as well. I used to use the Casper Focus work around, but the policy is much simpler.
For iPads in AirPlane mode, as long as USB's are allowed when locked, I have had a lot of success plugging them into a computer with Internet Sharing turned on and then using a hard restart. I have had mixed results with Content Sharing enabled for this.
Another way I accidentally discovered is to let the battery run down. As soon as you plug it back in to charge and it comes up you are able to go to setting to disable it. lol I wouldn't recommend sitting around and waiting but it did work lol. The easiest way I have figured out is the lost mode method.
Made configuration Profile, Single Sign on App I picked google. Once it switched I took it out. This made everything accessible again.
Lost Mode didn't work because it just went right back into having to put a Guided access Password. Which I didn't have. Clear passcode didn't work either. I didn't want to wipe it so the best was Single Sign on app. I am sure I could have used any app I just chose google.