Logout script run through Policy not working 100%

bmak
Contributor
Contributor

Hi People,

I'm new to casper and have been going through this forum to get a better idea of how policies and scripts work but I'm having a problem with the below mentioned script (which I found here and and have modified it to work in our environment)

When I copy it to a workstation and run it through terminal as sudo it all works.
But when I create a policy and have the script copied via Casper Admin only the MCX removal files portion of the script is working. The deleting of the home directories doesn't work.

I'm hoping someone can shed some light on this for me.

Thanks in advance for view and assisting!

# Loop through users with homes in /Users; exclude any accounts you don't want removed (i.e. local admin and current user if policy runs while someone is logged in)

for username in `ls /Users | grep -v admin | grep -v Shared`
do
echo "Removing user profile: $username"
# dscl . delete /Local/Default/Users/$username
rm -rf /Users/$username
done

# Remove MCX files
echo "Removing MCX files"
rm -rf "/Library/Managed Preferences"

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

franton
Valued Contributor III

We've had similar issue with our public access computers. Try this script and see if it works for you. This version will need you to change part of the script to your local admin account name (or delete the entry). The script will also allow you to specify an account name to not delete via the script addition menu in the JSS.

#!/bin/bash

# Clear all non local admin accounts script
# Author: r.purves@arts.ac.uk

# All present user accounts except specified local admin account will be wiped!
# This script is meant to be run at startup as root

# Script is meant to be called by a Casper policy
# specifying the local user account name in parameter 4.

# Specified local admin account name

LocalAdminAct=$4

# Backup IFS and set it to linefeed on return chars instead of space.

OIFS=$IFS
export IFS=$'	
'