Mac AD Migration from old Domain to New Domain

markhamandstein
New Contributor II

Hi Everyone, I'm reaching out in the need of assistance. I'm currently working on the migration of 300 AD bound macs. The scenario is the following:

-All 300 Macs are joined to old domain with network accounts and need to be migrated to the new domain without deleting their user data and making sure it has the correct permissions. -Currently their is no FileVault enabled. -I've been looking into scripts or some sort of automation that could help me un-join from the old domain, re-join to the new domain and move the user's profile with the same naming convention over to the new domain.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciate it, as I would like to publish this script on self service to do this on all the Macs that need to be migrated.

I'm no expert in JAMF, but I understand the concepts and have been using it for a while now. So detailed explanation would be greatly appreciate it.

Thanks for everyone's time on this threat, thanks in advanced.

Please feel free to have any input, anything would help.

35 REPLIES 35

DBrowning
Valued Contributor II

@markhamandstein Are the username's the same on both domains? I've now done 2 full domain migrations (1500+ machines each time).

I got some scripts that can help you out. just need to know if usernames are the same or different.

markhamandstein
New Contributor II

@ddcdennisb Thank you very much for your reply on this topic, to answer your question no, they don't have the same naming convention from the old domain to the new, but that will be changing, so after the change and before the migration they will have the same name on both old and new domain.

Thanks again for your help on this.

DBrowning
Valued Contributor II

@markhamandstein So I've got 2 scripts for you, one that could run automated when at the login screen or one that is a little more interactive that can be run via Self Service.