Managing software installs using JSS

J_Martinez
New Contributor III

Hello admins,

I'm relatively new to managing macOS, but have been slowly learning JSS and using it to deploy policies to workstation. We are currently using K1000 to install applications to clients, however i would like to start using JSS for this.

My questions is how do you manage application deployment on JSS? Can you configure JSS to not re install the app every time it checks in? How do you manage patching applications?

I'd be happy if anyone could point me in the right direction. Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

@BreakingZeus You'd use a Smart Group rather than an EA. Create one named something like "Firefox is current" with a criteria of Application Title is Firefox.app and Application Version is 56.00 (assuming 56.00 is the current version). To target all of your machines which didn't already have that version you would have a Policy where the Scope Targets was "All Managed Clients" (it's a pre-defined Computer Group) and Exclusions was "Firefox is current". The rest of the Policy settings would depend on how & when you wanted to install.

The Install Only if Available in Software Update would only be useful if you were going to use the JSS to deploy a package that was also available via Apple's softwareupdate tool.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Asnyder
Contributor III

As far as reinstalling just set the policy to recurring checkin and set it as once per computer. As far as updates go, you can either write a script or find one online that will keep the software up to date, or just push out another policy to install whatever version. typically I stay a version or two behind depending on the software in case new releases break something.

a_holley
Contributor

By default, the policy is set to once per computer. You then set the trigger you wish to use - typically recurring check in, which most people set to be every 15 minutes.