Maple 2021 Package never finishes

lehose
New Contributor II

I'm trying to deploy Maple 2021 to MacOS Big Sur.  The software actually installs fine if I watch the application folder in Finder.  However, as far as self-service is concerned, it just keeps spinning in process indefinately.

My policy caches my pkg to a temp folder.  I then run the post install script:

#!/bin/sh

cd /users/shared/Temp/Maple2021.1MacInstaller.app/Contents/Macos

./installbuilder.sh --unattendedmodeui minimal --mode unattended --licenseType network --serverName REDACTED --portNumber 27003 --enableUpdates 0 --checkForUpdatesNow 0

After this, another script to remove the installer runs:

#!/bin/sh

rm -rf /users/shared/Temp

Any suggestions?  I'm a MacOS and Jamf novice, so I'm assuming I'm doing something incorrectly

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

AntMac
Contributor

May I offer a possible alternative option for you? 

If you have the dmg from the vendor possibly an easier option for you may be to capture the install and desired settings in Composer. If you are able to do that you can then make a PKG which you can allow to be uninstalled. Just make sure you tick the appropriate FUT/FEU checkboxes and allow uninstall in JAMF admin after uploading. Then the JAMF policy can do more of the leg work for you rather than having to try and script it. 

Composer manual is here if you want to check it out Composer User Guide | Jamf

Also a side point, unsure if you are deploying to M1 or Intel chipset. But if you are deploying to M1, Rosetta would need to be installed first as this application is Intel with Rosetta support for M1. Der Flounder has a nifty script that works beautifully to deploy out Rosetta.   Installing Rosetta 2 on Apple Silicon Macs | Der Flounder (wordpress.com)

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

damienbarrett
Valued Contributor

put exit 0 at the end of each script so the shell can exit cleanly.