NetSUS and NBI creation with Sierra

GHDJAMF
New Contributor

Hello All!

I am quite new to JAMF Nation as my organization has just signed up for Casper. I am trying to figure my way through establishing a Netboot/Netsus server and I am running into some issues in an attempt to create a netboot image (.nbi) to enable Netboot on my server. I seem to be running into this issue when I attempt to create an nbi based on Sierra.

Here's what I've got so far, I am running the latest NetSUS on Ubuntu server 14.04.
I've gone ahead and got the Install ESD of Sierra and then went ahead and created .dmg's using a couple different tools such as AutoDMG, Composer, and System Image utility. I seem to be able to make a modular dmg just fine however the problem arises when I attempt to use either Casper Netinstall Creator, AutoCasper NBI, or System Image utility to turn that dmg into an NBI.

Basically what I'm seeing is if I use NetInstall Creator it will go through the process then towards the end it went suddenly Quit unexpectedly, however it create an NBI and I'm able to deploy it to the smb share for NetSUS and the web interface see it as an nbi, however when I go to Enable Netboot it errors with Unable to Start Netboot service, Ensure your .nbi directory is properly configured. So I attempted AutoCasper instead.

With AutoCasper I am stopped before I begin. I select the dmg however when I go to select Casper Imaging it halts on "examining" and never moves part that no matter the patience given haha!

So I attempted System Image Utility as a third option and am able to create an NBI, however I'm not able to mount my dmg in there for it to create an NBI. So in an attempt to try System image utility I tried a 4th option by using an external hd created base image then see if I could create an NBI, however I was met with failure as well.

I'm kind of new at this so appreciate any help that you can provide.

Thank you!

Dustin

8 REPLIES 8

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester