Not Enough disk space to install ******.dmg on this volume

Randydid
Contributor II

Hello and good morning,

I am new to Casper. I just created a rather large (and time consuming) image. I captured the image with Composer. Now, when I try to drop the image on another machine for testing. I select the volume, I choose Erase drive, then select the image I just created, and then reboot after image. I get a message stating that I do not have enough space when it tries to erase the drive/installing package, it errors out. I can get around this by launching Disk Utility and manually erasing the drive then relaunching the client and NOT selecting the option to erase the drive first.

I am sure it is something really simple, I am just not seeing. I have tried Diskless and non on the NBI in Server Admin.

9 REPLIES 9

millersc
Valued Contributor

Was this drive partitioned previously? How big is your "large" image vs. your HDD it's going on?

Randydid
Contributor II

The drive was partitioned-3/4 TB. It is a test machine. My image is about 43GB.

pblake
Contributor III

Did you Scan For Restore in Disk Utility prior?
apple.com/thread/2611443

millersc
Valued Contributor

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5990
I couldn't find the thread pblake posted, so this should help.

Randydid
Contributor II

Hello everyone,

I *thought* I had scanned the disk for restore but maybe not. I did that and so far the image is dropping on two different test machines without error. Thanks for the help and quick responses. I look forward to attending my CSE training coming up in July.

/randy

Randydid
Contributor II

A followup question is why does't the Composer app take care of this? It does a lot of other helpful things....

Sandy
Valued Contributor II

Hi Randy
Welcome to Jamf Nation!