Off topic---What matters more...Certs or a Degree?

AndyBeaver
Contributor II

I am pretty new to the industry,(2 years in) and considering pursuing an online degree in IT. As it stands I am in charge of about 11k iOS and Mac OS devices for a school district. I have a number of Apple certs, but just curious to hear from a more seasoned crowd in the enterprise Mac realm.Thank you, and I hope this is not too off topic.

11 REPLIES 11

ClassyLee
New Contributor III

It really depends on what you want to do with your career and where you work. There's a lot of big corporations out there that won't even consider you unless you have a bachelors degree; however, where I work, certs and work experience are worth their weight in gold compared to a degree.

Also, it depends on where you want to go with your future and/or career. Do you want to be a technician/engineer or do you want to try and move into a management position? I could see where additional education (a degree) could help in IT management and related areas, but not so much if you were to stay more on the technical side...for that I'd just stick with keeping current with new technologies and keep getting re-certified

jarednichols
Honored Contributor

The best answer is "it depends." Myself, I got a bachelor's in MIS and it's actually been rather helpful, I think, even though I'm not in management. It's helped me "self mange" with some of the skills I've learned. I've also gotten various certifications along the way (CCA for instance) that help directly with what I'm doing.