Profile Creator .mobileconfigs lose payload when uploaded as Configuration Profiles

sdickson02
New Contributor II

Hello! I am relatively new to Jamf, so I am currently exploring all of the ways I can use it to customize the user experience for my university's computer labs.

I have been working with Profile Creator to make custom Configuration Profiles and then uploading them to Jamf. This works great for third party applications, but when I try to use some of the System Settings payloads (for settings that do not seem to exist in Jamf), the payloads disappear when I upload the .mobileconfig file.

It is possible that some of these settings are deprecated, but they should in theory be modifying common .plist files.

I have tested this with both signed and unsigned profiles.

Any suggestions, insight, or advice would be much appreciated!

(Please none of the "why do you want to lock down the user experience" comments -- we all have our reasons for managing our spaces the way we do.)

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III
...when I try to use some of the System Settings payloads (for settings that do not seem to exist in Jamf), the payloads disappear when I upload the .mobileconfig file.

I think what you're experiencing here is exactly what you described. These settings don't exist in Jamf, but because Profile Creator is using one of the actual profile payloads for the OS, when it's uploaded to Jamf, those settings don't appear, at least in the GUI. However, have you tried pushing one of these uploaded profiles to a system to see what gets applied? It's possible that the settings are in fact in the profile but just can't be shown in the UI. You should be able to see all the settings in the profile in the Profiles preference pane once it gets deployed to a machine. If it's there, then you'll know it's all good, but you won't be able to visually see them in the UI.