sed help

jhuls
Contributor III

I've been tasked with working on a script that removes the following from /etc/sudoers and replaces with a specific account name.

%admin ALL=(ALL) ALL
specificAccountName ALL=(ALL) ALL

I have this working with sed on OS X 10.10 and 10.11 but under 10.9 it fails. It seems that in 10.10 and 10.11 spaces were used between %admin and ALL but in 10.9 the powers that be used a tab. In looking online the only stuff I can find that states how to work with a tab in sed is to do a CTRL-V and then hit TAB. This doesn't apply when working in the editor in Casper. I've not tried importing a script so maybe that's an option and see if it'll maintain that code.

Does anyone have a better idea or if the import idea I mentioned fails...simply an idea period? I'm not an expert in shell scripting or sed for that matter. I read where someone recommended awk instead of sed so I haven't dug into that yet. I thought I would ask here in case awk might run into the same issue.

10 REPLIES 10

mpermann
Valued Contributor II

@jhuls I belive I've read in other threads that you need to use visudo to make those edits to make sure you don't mess up the file. But that's about the extent of my knowledge. Maybe some others can give some more details.

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

Can you just use sed -i 's/<tab>//g' (replacing <tab> with an actual tab?

That being said, visudo would be best as I believe it does error checking to avoid catastrophes!

jhuls
Contributor III

@davidacland I've tried putting an actual tab in there and it didn't work. As far as visudo I'm not aware of a method to script it.

mpermann
Valued Contributor II

@jhuls have a look at @rtrouton's response in this thread. It seems like some folks are editing the file then backing up the original and dropping in the edited version. Maybe that method would work for you.

jhuls
Contributor III