Self Service, Mac App Store apps and admin credentials

DanJ_LRSFC
Contributor III

We started making the free Apple apps from the Mac App Store available via VPP on our Self Service.

However we're finding that when users are trying to install these they are being prompted for admin credentials for "storedownloadd".

I found this thread which says I need to disable "Require admin password to install or update apps" in Configuration Profiles.

However if I disable that, won't that mean that users will then be able to install apps from other sources such as downloads or USB sticks?

Is there a way to monitor and/or block unauthorised app installations, while still retaining the ability to install VPP apps from Self Service?

Thanks,
Dan Jackson (Senior ITServices Technician).

6 REPLIES 6

Hugonaut
Valued Contributor II

Hello @DanJ_LRSFC

I'm not sure but I have some ideas. just fyi..
* (I have no experience w. Mac App Store Apps, I run Composer for all applications in our environment and then add that package to the Self Service & Limit Updates.) *

On a test machine, what happens if you delete StoreDownloadd & then download normally through self service with no changes elsewhere?

sudo rm -rf /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/CommerceKit.framework/Versions/A/Resources/storedownloadd

have you tried this??

39edaeda98654605815a40cf29d907ac maybe modify these settings in security prefs pane
&
b/c JSS Acts as root you can put those apps in Self Service and then disable access the the App store so they are limited? Why are they getting this pop up if the stuff is from Self Service??

or