Sending an email via script

Jason
Contributor II

This is something i've never tried to do before so i'm not quite sure of the process. I want to run a script and have it send an email at the end letting me know that it completed (repo_sync results from reposado).

I've seen some mention of sendmail, something i've never used before. But when i try it it doesn't seem to do anything. So i'm fairly certain i need to configure it for my Exchange Online configuration. Is this a fairly straight forward process? I've seen a few different examples through searching and not sure what the best approach is. Do i just edit main.cf with a relayhost? Do i need to specify credentials in sasl_passwd? Are there other steps? Is there any easier/newer options if it's running High Sierra?

Thanks

3 REPLIES 3

dan-snelson
Valued Contributor II

@Jason We use Python to send emails from the end-point:
The Python Standard Library: 20.1.8. email: Examples.

#!/usr/bin/python
####################################################################################################
#
# ABOUT
#
#   Script to send plain-text email:
#       * Parameter 4: recipient
#       * Parameter 5: subject
#       * Parameter 6: message
#
####################################################################################################
#
# HISTORY
#
#   Version 1.0, 7-Dec-2015, Dan K. Snelson
#

# Import commands
import commands, os, sys, smtplib, email
from email import encoders

SMTP_SERVER = 'smtp.company.com'
SMTP_PORT = 25
SMTP_FROM = 'noreply@company.com'                                                     # Must be a complete email address
SMTP_TO = str(sys.argv[4])                                                          # Parameter 4: recipient
SUBJECT = str(sys.argv[3]) + ", " + str(sys.argv[2]) + ": " + str(sys.argv[5])      # Parameter 5: subject
MESSAGE = str(sys.argv[6])                                                          # Parameter 6: message

msg = email.MIMEMultipart.MIMEMultipart()